Nevada Minimum Auto Insurance Increasing
The threshold for minimum auto insurance liability coverage goes up July 1, 2018 under a new Nevada law approved during last year’s legislative session.
New minimums require motorists to carry $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident, plus $20,000 for property damage coverage per accident.
The current requirement of $15,000/$30,000/$10,000 will be eliminated. This requirement is for street legal vehicles including Motorcycles.
Also, if you carry the Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury ( UMBI ) coverage, you will need to have at least coverage of $25,000/$50,000. Your car insurance company will likely need you to complete a new UMBI form that acknowledges you have been offered this coverage. The old form needs to be updated to comply with the law and the old lower limits of $15,000/$30,000 will be gone.
“The costs of medical care and car repairs have gone up significantly,” Nevada DMV Director Terri Albertson said. “The cost of a crash can easily exceed these older minimums.”
About a third of Nevada’s 2.3 million licensed drivers carried the minimum coverage as of last year.
Most drivers were notified about the need for increased coverage during their most recent policy renewals.
Drivers failing to purchase auto liability insurance at the new minimum limits could be cited and fined and have their vehicle registration canceled until the appropriate coverage is purchased.